RSS

Home Learning 19-10-2012

19 Oct

Thank you so much for all your great World War II Home Learning, I learnt lots. If anyone has any more information about Barcombe during the war years, or knows of people we could interview after half-term do let the Badger team know.

This week’s home learning is a writing challenge. You can choose to do the easy challenge or the harder one – its up to you. Either have a go at the 100 word challenge, or perhaps try the shorter 5 sentence challenge.

100 Word Challenge: Can you put the phrase below anywhere in your work as long as you keep it together. The prompt is:  …what is that?…

You have 100 words to add to these 3 making 103 altogether. This prompt may lead you to have a go at writing some speech. Of course you could write a description of an item and ask your readers the question. It is a prompt that you can have some fun with.

5 Sentence Challenge: Can you write 5 sentences inspired the image below.

Respond to these prompts in your Home Learning book, or direct onto the blog as a comment. I will try to publish as many as possible on the blog over the week ahead.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 19, 2012 in Information

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Home Learning 19-10-2012

  1. Sophie

    October 22, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    Today I went to my door and opened it. There sitting on the doorstep was a little baby kitten. It was a bit grubby. Just then my mum came and said “what is that horrid dirty bundle of fluff?” I replied it is my new baby kitten that I just found. Then my mum went away. I went off with my kitten. I went off to wash my kitten. A few days later my kitten had run away. I was really worried. I also didn’t know where she had gone. I set out to find her the next day but that’s another story.

    BY SOPHIE

     
    • mrcobbsclass

      October 23, 2012 at 8:25 am

      Well done Sophie. Good use of a bit of speech in the 100 words. I like how you have used short and long sentences too. Next time try to vary the sentence start, so its not always I.

       
  2. HB

    October 23, 2012 at 8:02 am

    The railway station was very busy because it was nearly ww2.
    Lots of people gathered on a sunny afternoon.
    A steam train pulled in next to lots of people.
    Today it was very flowery at Pansy railway station.
    The people were very happy considering it was nearly ww2. THE END.

    mr Cobb I hope you like my homework.

     
    • mrcobbsclass

      October 23, 2012 at 8:23 am

      Wow, well done HB. I love the use of the word gathered in the second sentence. Well done.

       
  3. William Wallis

    October 23, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    Bringing them home.

    A train is coming in to the village station bringing back men who have played a part in the war.

    The people on the platform are waiting for their dads and husbands to come back from the war.

    The children and their mothers are very excited for the arrival of their husbands and dads.

    They have waited a long time to come back.

    Now they have come back they are all very excited, tonight the celebrations will commence.

     
    • mrcobbsclass

      October 24, 2012 at 7:24 pm

      Great sentences William. I love the way you have thought about the character’s feelings.

       
  4. JC

    October 24, 2012 at 4:21 pm

    Once there was a man called john.One day john was in a forest and he heared a wierd noise.What is that noise said john.He hered the noise again and again.It was loder then before.

     
    • mrcobbsclass

      October 24, 2012 at 7:23 pm

      Well done John. Some good ideas. I like how your sentences start with different ideas.

       

Leave a Reply

 
