RSS

Home Learning 18-11-2011

18 Nov

Wow, some great answers on the reading challenge I gave you last week. We’re going to be looking more at this task at the start of next week, so I’ll give you more feedback then.

This week’s task is to have a go at another 100 Word Challenge. The prompt is

…as I turned round it changed shape…

Remember what we’ve been looking at in class. Sometimes one powerful word is worth far more than a number of less powerful ones. Also, although you only have 100 words try to make it a really action packed piece of writing. You can add them as a comment on this post, send it via dropittome, or bring them in on paper.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on November 18, 2011 in Information

 

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “Home Learning 18-11-2011

  1. SB Art Lover

    November 18, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    I have already done it.

     
    • mrcobbsclass

      November 18, 2011 at 6:11 pm

      Yeah, I’ll link it to the 100WC site in a moment.

       
  2. kg animal lover

    November 18, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    i was out walking my dog ,milo, when i heard a bang!i turned round to see what was going on nothing just the thin tall trees. i carrried on walking more axious now though antother BANG!! it rang in my ears i looked round to see a swirling of diffrent things i cound nt quiet make out what it was then i stared then i could just make out what is was all my memories alll mashed up in what loooked like a wirlwind . i turned round again and blinked and rubbed my eyes to make sure i wasnt dreaming as i turned round it changed shape….. 107 words!!

     
  3. ES famous singer

    November 19, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    I slamed the back door I knew I was safe from the ESP they have been chaseing me for as far as I know. Maybe I’m a crimernl or someone in my raleionship is a crimernl. But at lest I was safe…FOR A MINITURE SECOND! There they were black and white. I ran in shock my heart fired out like a bulleit! They were too plump to chach me. WHAM there I went zooming past to the font door. I raced out. But… a gard dog grawling was I safe? I turned round but as I turned round it changed shape.

     
  4. ES famous singer

    November 19, 2011 at 1:30 pm

    Please can you put mine on the 100WC blog too

     
  5. amy

    November 19, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    It all started when it was my 14th birthday. We had a birthday picnic as a big celebration [ I love scrummy picnics ] when my dad said “what a strange tree ! “. I turned a round to see a circle shaped tree its leaves were muddy brown and amber orange. But as I turned round it changed shape. It didn’t take long to notice we were not alone..

     
  6. MK

    November 22, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    As i looked out of the window i saw a feint shadow in the distance. I was curious so i creaped down stairs and put on my wellies and coat and went outside in to the forest. Iwas looking for a wille suddenly i heard a crack of a twig behind me . i caught a glimpse of something out of the corner of my eye, as i turned around it changed shape. what seemed to be a solid object had changed right in front of me. now it wasn,t solid any more and i could see right through it. it was a ghost.
    i was so scared that i ran out of the forest and i to my garden and strait in tomy house and i bashed in to my mum and she said where have you been …. 129 words! 🙂

     
  7. TA

    November 22, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    I woke up on a bright sunny day and realised I wasn’t in my own bedroom but in a forest of some kind. As I got up, leaves crunched under my feet. Then I heard a sudden roaring sound which frightened me. A huge beast-like creature appeared it looked like a giant ground sloth, 3 times bigger than me! I remembered that it was a megatherium that I had been reading about. I was in a Pleistocene forest. Suddenly it came charging towards me, running on the sides of its feet with its claws curled inwards. I started running but I knew I had no chance against it. As I turned round, it changed shape into a match box. How? I do not know, but I was truly relived!

    {There is a good picture of a megatherium at http://132.209.40.23/w4/campagne/images/WotC_Art_Galleries/FiendFolio/Megatherium.jpg}

     
  8. BDG world saver

    November 23, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    Plopping into the crystal clear water, I looked around. Beautiful fish swirled below me, shimmering in the sunlight. The coral reef was amazing, shrimps darted around the rocks as others stood as still as statues trying to blend into the background. I am an observer; I’m the on looker. I sank backwards to what I thought was a rock, I sensed something moving slowly behind me. As I turned round it changed shape …….

     
    • mrcobbsclass

      November 23, 2011 at 10:02 pm

      Great writing Billy, some lovely descriptive sections and I like how you use the short phrases

      I am an observer; I’m the on looker

      to contrast with the longer descriptive parts. I think you can think of a better word than Plopping as a start, it would begin your writing in a more powerful way. Well done.

       

Leave a Reply

 
