RSS

Home Learning 14-10-2011

13 Oct

Thank you to all of you who counted and counted the different rectangles and triangles for last week’s task. The trick with both was to use more than one rectangle/triangle to make a larger one. This meant that there were well over 50 triangles and a similar large number for the rectangles. Those of you who suggested that you needed a ruler to establish which rectangles were actually squares, were also correct. Remember a rectangle has 4 sides, with two pairs of parallel matching sides.

As requested this week’s Home Learning task is for another 100 Word Challenge. This week’s prompt is:…the noise was SO loud…  which I think gives you scope for some fantastic writing. As usual the home learning is due in for Thursday; but if you want to be entered onto the 100WC blog, then you will have to complete it by Tuesday. Just mail me the 100 words, or post it as a comment to this post. Remember too to look back at this post and comment on the pieces which get posted. Good Luck

 
17 Comments

Posted by on October 13, 2011 in Information

 

Tags: , , ,

17 responses to “Home Learning 14-10-2011

  1. kg animal lover

    October 14, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    The noise was so loud my heart was thuding beating faster and faster every second. Who is it what is it all i could do was lay in bed alone.Why me why cant it be someone who deservies it. So i lay there thinking all the bad things i have done in my life. the noise became louder and louder. It sounded like last week when the car broke down it was a horrible screching noise drifting right into my bedroom suddenly BOOM! i lay under my cover then suddenly the cover was striped off of me it was …… my mum. I was so relieved.

     
    • mrcobbsclass

      October 14, 2011 at 9:03 pm

      Great writing. Have a read through and see if you want to change anything, or add in some more punctuation? Let me know. Then I’ll post it on the blog on Monday and link it to the 100WC blog.

       
      • kg animallover

        October 16, 2011 at 2:35 pm

        i did forget to put in my commas and my capitals!!

         
  2. Rm Horse lover

    October 16, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    It was a quiet sunday morning and i was walking my dog on the downsit was sunny and the atmosphere was great.I stopped and took in the beatiful surronding.The thudding behing me became faster and faster stronger and stronger.The noise was so loud i turned round and my eyes were met by a group of galloping racehorses swallowing up the ground with every poundig stride the took.I called my dog every second they came nearer and nearer i ran but they were close very close.I swung round and was speechless as i saw 15 racehorse coming towards me.I screamed and fell…

     
  3. KH

    October 16, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    The noise was so loud that my heart beat faster every second.So I got up to see what the noise was but there was no-one there, then I shouted ‘who’s making that noise?’, but there was no answer just an echo of my voise.Just then the noise got louder so I went to ask mum what the noise was but she didn’t know. it semed like it was me who cares.But I was so detemned to find out what the noise was.Then my mum came up and said it is time for bed,so I got in to bed and pretended to go to sleep but as soon as mum went out the door I got straight up.Then I went to the window and it was really windy all of a sudden, then I thought that I would never find out what the noise was. Then I turned around and saw that it was my cat hiding behind my bed,he was scared of the storm. So it was my cat making the noise all along!

     
  4. Rm Horse lover

    October 16, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    sorry i made a few mistakes
    i was walking my dog on the downs it was sunny.
    Beautiful
    Surrounding
    Behind
    Pounding
    Racehorses

     
  5. KB

    October 17, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    100 wc week 6

    It was a Sunday morning and I stumbled out of bed with my eyes half shut. I walked to my wardrobe and pulled out my favorite jeans and top, shoved them on and went downstairs to the breakfast table.

    “ Nice sleep in.” Asked my mum
    “ okay.” I mumbled
    “Aren’t you a bit late for something” She smiled. I turned to look at the clock on the wall, my eyes widened, I dropped the breakfast cereal and sprinted to the front door and out into the fresh air . I finally got to the church looked around and climbed all the way up to the highest tower, the bell tower. The noise of the bells was SO loud that it almost deafened my ears.
    I’m never going to that church again.

     
  6. SB Art lover

    October 17, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    It was a windy Saturday morning and my mum was driving me along the edge of a shady road leading to my best friend’s house. That afternoon me and my best friend were to go out shopping in our local town. As my mum was turning around a sharp corner we heard a loud boom. The noise was SO loud! I looked out the windscreen and saw a large tree had fallen behind us; our car had escaped by a 10cm gap! But the car behind us was still stuck behind the tree, it tried to go around the tree but it was too tight!

     
  7. etp horse lover

    October 17, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    The race horses galloped along behind me, the noise was SO loud i could barely hear my self
    breathing , i had to run faster i had to ,if i didn’t i would get trampled on by the horses, then suddenly i felt my self falling backwards… it was the edge of the cliff i didn’t kow what to do i wished i could go back home with my mum hugging me tight , and as if by magic i was awake again
    it had only been a nightmare ! I looked around hoping to see my mum in my bedroom but where i was was was not my bedroom … it was hospital

     
  8. SH lego builder

    October 17, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    My homework

    One day my dad got angry with his computer. He decided to blow it up. So he did!
    The noise was so loud that the windows smashed and the house shook. It was also extreamly big.
    It covered the whole globe and could be heared every where. But curiously not one living creature was hurt or killed. Dad was really embarresed when it went on the news. He also set a record and won £1,000,000 !!! so dad bought a new ( really expensive ) computer it was solid gold!
    and Ruth Abi and Mum all got ipad 2’s!
    Dad didn’t like it when the other champion ( in second place ) got really angry.

     
  9. BDG world saver

    October 17, 2011 at 8:12 pm

    Bang ! the noise was so loud. The rockets zoomed up and exploded like cannon fire in the distance. My ears were popping , I looked up at the fireworks once again , this time they were louder. The unbearable smell of torches and bangers rose from the ground. I ran to dad and he gave me the ear muffs , the noise was suddenly softened by the squidgy foam. In my muted world, I gazed up at the jet black sky and experienced an amazing sight.

     
  10. LL

    October 17, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    The noise was SO loud, it burst through my ears, deafening me ferociously. I had no idea where I was going, I just kept on going on through the streets of London. I heard the ominous drone of helicopters coming closer and closer. Eventually I dived in to a side alley my heart pumping fiercely, I thought I was safe until I heard the shouts of a cop ” I’ve found ‘im, over ‘ere” he was running at me with a truncheon in his grasp, but he was the least of my worries, I quickly sidestepped him and ran straight ahead…

     
  11. arg

    October 17, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    I lay there, listening. By now the noise was so loud my ears ached and my heart pulsated. I couldn’t move. My body felt bizarre, numb. What was going on? I called ” Mum!”There was no reply, so I flopped to the floor and dragged myself over to the window, I pinned back the curtain and looked in the direction of the ever louer howling noise . Creeping towards me an oil black shadow, stinking and squelching and moaning. Was it real? Or just my imagination…?

     
  12. etp horse lover

    October 18, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    please can you post my story on the 100 word challange blog thanks

     
    • mrcobbsclass

      October 19, 2011 at 8:07 am

      Oops, sorry. Think I missed the deadline, but will see if I can.

       
  13. TA

    October 18, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    It was a hot sunny day in the centre of London. As I was at the side of the busy road, I looked left, I looked right, then suddenly the noise was so loud as five army motorbikes came zooming round the corner. I saw them coming straight towards me. My heart was thumping. They suddenly hit down the brakes with a screech, came to a halt and asked me if I wanted to ride on the motorbike. I felt a mixture of emotions, excitement, fear and amazement. I climbed on, the engines revved and people, shops and the River Thames looked like a blur.

     
    • mrcobbsclass

      October 19, 2011 at 8:51 pm

      Great writing TA. I like the way the long description of the motorbikes zooming is followed by a short (4 word) sentence – it really has some punch. Well done, keep it up.

       

Leave a Reply

 
