RSS

Home Learning 23-09-2011

21 Sep

We’ve had some great Charity Presentations over the last few days and it will be a tricky choice for the class. This week’s home learning picks up from the success of our 100 Word Challenges from last week’s Literacy. You task is to write a 100 words based on the image below.

Think about the person, what he might be doing there, where he has been? Remember you only have 100 words to use to write a creative piece. Think carefully about the words you use, try to make them as powerful as possible. You can bring the 100 words into school on a memory stick, on a piece of paper, e-mail it to school, or even add it as a comment to this post. Whatever you choose, we’ll choose some examples to put on the 100 Word Challenge blog.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on September 21, 2011 in Information

 

15 responses to “Home Learning 23-09-2011

  1. Mrs Skinner

    September 22, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    Hello Mr Cobb’s Class!
    I do hope you will have a go at writing about this picture. It was super to have some of your entries last week on the 100WC! Hope to see you all this week!

     
    • mrcobbsclass

      September 22, 2011 at 8:19 pm

      Some real enthusiasm for the project in the class. I anticipate a larger entry this week.

       
  2. SH lego builder

    September 24, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    Imprisonment

    It was four years ago when the storm raged above Gringotts bank. The rain hit my nose, dribbling down my cheek. I tried to move my hand up to wipe my face. I couldn’t. Once the rain had stopped, I could see Gringotts bank glistening in the morning sun. The damage before me was immense. A plain dragon lay on the dewy grass. Its right wing was bleeding. I watched it, wishing to help it. After a long time my desire was so strong I broke out from my enchantment and took a breath of air once again. I was free. First I looked at the bank. Then I turned to the dragon…

     
    • mrcobbsclass

      September 25, 2011 at 7:05 pm

      This is a great piece SH. I like the sentence structures you’ve used, such as “The rain hit my nose, dribbling down my cheek.” How could you end this piece? What would come next of you had more than 100 words?

       
  3. SB

    September 25, 2011 at 11:53 am

    I’ve always wandered what it was like to be a statue, and I never thought I would ever get to be one. But here I am now standing on a square in Venice in front of my favourite building, The Great Venice Hall. They never liked me in the hall, but somehow it always seemed to be my most liked place especially after the war, The Venetian–Genoese War, that’s when everything happened to me, that’s when I met a friend who changed my life who was always there for me. That’s why I am here now as a statue.

     
    • mrcobbsclass

      September 25, 2011 at 7:03 pm

      Well done. I like the way you speak as the statue in this piece SB, I also like the detail of the Venetian setting.How could you get more excitement and intrigue into this writing?

       
  4. kg animal lover

    September 25, 2011 at 7:53 pm

    Once there was a man a man called the wachman he has been walking for miles. He comes from london the wachman has stoped for a rest but he still has 123 miles to go.”What a lovely veiw” exclaimed the wachman he now has his breath taken away by the amazing view of the emense building towering over him.A flash of lighting struck and he tried to move he couldnt he tried to talk but he couldnt and scream and shout but couldnt he is now
    a statue he is stil there today

     
    • mrcobbsclass

      September 25, 2011 at 8:29 pm

      Well done KG. I like the use of exclaimed to say how the wachman spoke. Next time, remember to reread your work to check for capital letters and punctuation.

       
  5. EW

    September 26, 2011 at 11:55 am

    Ilike the persuasiveness of it all if i were Jim i would seryinly stay.

     
  6. TA

    September 26, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    No.1 spying agent, Niam Shiffy (1884 – 1920) born London, died Russia, went spying in Russia and didn’t come back! A few weeks later, I heard that he got shot dead on his very last mission. King George VI made a statue of him. A few months earlier, the king had given Niam Shiffy a knight hood for bravery, on January the 30th. He was also the king’s No.1 guard and best friend. Many historians took a lot of photos of the statue with the London palace in the background. The press think that Ivan Nesky shot Niam Shiffy while spying.

     
  7. lucas lee

    September 27, 2011 at 11:24 am

    L:L

    My name is Bob bobbly and I am 45. It is 1939. I am a politician fighting for the rights of people in this country. I have been to an important meeting at the houses of parliament. We make very big decisions for all the people of England. Laws and rules that people have to obey. The sound of big ben is telling me the time is 10am and I have to get to my next meeting with the prime minister Winston Churchill about war against Germany.It is the biggest meeting of my career so ill have to think my best thoughts to impress sir Winston Churchill himself.

     
  8. EW

    September 27, 2011 at 5:46 pm

    It is the year twenty fifty and some stange things have been happening, people have been going missing and the statue in the city square. I have desided that I am going to find out the mistery of the missing people. 5 years have passed now and 12 more people have gone missing but werdly the statue has moved as well its, head has turned and it is claiming victims faster than usal but i’m not going to be a victim of the statue. I have also notist its geting bigger with every victim it claims and some one has to do it and that some one is going to be me so tomorow i am going to see were it takes you and I am going to everyone back. 🙂 😉

     
  9. KB

    September 27, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    The Iron Statue

    By Kaiya Butler

    The rain was pounding against my face as I sprinted further and further into the random darkness. I ran on, and on, until I couldn’t go on anymore. With the shadow of the castle looming over me I slumped myself down onto the cold wet stone. Where could I go next? Where could I run? I could hear the booming of his voice running after me. I curled myself up into a tight ball and closed my eyes. I held my breath as the loud footsteps ran past me, the iron footsteps, of an iron statue….

    I was lucky, I got away

    102 words

     
  10. sb

    September 27, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    I have been traveling for miles.
    I don’t know who I am or where I am,I think I must of bumped my head or something like that. I think I am in a town or a city.
    I ask different people what my name is and I asked this woman with
    a metal thing on her head. She let me stay at her huge house
    and she said I could be a prince,I didn’t know what it was.She named me Tim Homthan.She told me who she was and told me what a prince was plus she told me if she died I had to be the King. 5 years later the Queen died and I became King.

     
  11. ES Shark Trainer

    September 28, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    I’m stuck… I mean stuck as in I’m stuck in rock. I hate it, I get picked on and at least once a day I get said dirty words that can not be printed. I wish I never did this but… let me tell you a story. once me and my friends Jack,Tom and Lily were walking in the Contey side, untill I spoted some thing stange, very stange. “Hey look” I scremed there was a big mountain a few meters away! “Lets clime up it” Tom said “good idea” Lily said. sowe set off cilmeing higher and higher the rocks begain to fall behind us like screws falling of a wall once they have been scrwed out Lily fell, she scremed but quckly I grabed her arm! I pulled her up she grabed one of the rock “Thank you” Lily wisped then Tom fell Lily tryed to grab Tom’s arm but she missed! Tom fell in to death then I fell too tumberling and tumberling down the mountain ” AGHHHHHHHHH” I Cryed I fell into Death the same as Tom. So thats why im here in the middle of a city stuck, suck all alone. Now never clime a mountain without safety. The End 🙂 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
